Please login or register. September 20, 2018, 07:48:21 PM

Author Topic: How to play non DCP digital content  (Read 3288 times)

nevis

• View Profile
How to play non DCP digital content
« on: April 30, 2015, 04:37:27 AM »
Hi All

This is my first post so please be gentle!

Our community centre has just purchased an NEC 900c so we've started showing films.  We showed our first film last week and the show went perfectly.  It's all new to me but I have extensive IT experience so plenty of my skills are transferable.

What I'm trying to work out is a simple (ish) way to play other digital content and ultimately also have the ability to que it from a show on the doremi software on the server.

We also have a AP20 which can do A/V source switching and is controlled via doremei macros.  So far the best idea I've come up with is a Bluray player with IP or RS232 control that also has the ability to play content from usb devices, a network share or via dnla or something similar.  We could then plug that into one of the AP20 hdmi inputs and control everything via doremi macros.  I assume, if I can find a suitable player, selecting a file to play will be via cursor/menu selection so it will be a bit clunky but none the less "should" work.

So far I've found the Denon DN-500BD which looks like it might work but I can't find a manual.  There are also a couple of other Denon pro players too.  I don't really care what brand the player is as long as it works well.

Any thoughts on my plan and any suggestions for players that will do what I want?

Thanks in advance :)

nevis

• View Profile
Re: How to play non DCP digital content
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2015, 04:14:54 PM »
Anyone?

Carsten

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2015, 05:12:38 PM »
No easy answer. Most cinemas showing alternative content will not need or use automation/remote control with it.