Please login or register. December 14, 2018, 09:24:35 AM

Author Topic: DCP tiff sequence limit?  (Read 7617 times)

robmaas

DCP tiff sequence limit?
« on: May 26, 2012, 11:32:32 AM »
Hi,

This is my first try in making a DCP. The test worked out fine, but now I have a problem exporting a tiff image sequence both from QuickTime Pro as from Final Cut, it get stuck at a third of the film, the film length is 90 minutes. The tiffs are 5mb each (total 800gb). Anyone had this problem and solved it? Does it has to do with a max file limit in a Mac folder?, 90 minutes equals about 125.000 tiffs. Or is it just the length of the film that causes the problem?

Option is to export the film in 3 reels of each 30 minutes en put all the tiffs back in one folder and change the numbers so they are sequenced.

The planned workflow goes through OpenDCP, but right now I am stuck at creating the tiffs. Suggested solutions are very welcome at this time.

Thanks,
Rob

Wolfgang Woehl

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: DCP tiff sequence limit?
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2012, 01:58:55 PM »
Rob, I'll assume you do exports from Quicktime Pro and FCP regularly? That would rule out a timeline with (inadvertently) only 1 third of the material selected for export.

It's probably not storage either, yes?

Are you using some plugin/codec gate that might be length/size limited in its trial version? Recent changes in your plugin/codecs infrastructure?

robmaas

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2012, 09:42:39 AM »
Hi Wolfgang,

Thank you for your reply.

I still have no idea on the limit, it seems to get stuck around 65.000 frames both from FCP and QT PRo. I have now exported 3 reels of 45.000 frames each (30 minutes), after that I renamed the files so they are sequenced with http://renamer.com/ - exporting each reel took 4 hours and renaming took me one hour, now I am converting to JPEG-2000, seems like this workflow works, so hope I can help anyone with sharing this info.

Rob

actpower

• View Profile