Please login or register. October 21, 2018, 05:11:20 PM

Author Topic: Getting the DCP onto an appropriate drive...  (Read 46976 times)

Martini77

Getting the DCP onto an appropriate drive...
« on: May 14, 2012, 08:37:04 PM »
Hi there - I'm new to DCP and have just created my first using OPENDCP on a feature.

It was surprisingly easy (!) though I have yet to test it; that's happening at a movie theatre later this week. Or at least it's supposed to be happening....

I was aiming to get the DCP onto an EX2 drive but so far I've not had much luck.

I'm using a Mac OSX 10.7.4

I've rooted around the internet but can't find a solution to formatting an  external USB drive as EX2. (I have installed FUSE For OSX and fuse-ex2)

Does anyone have any solutions or leads? Preferably not involving code in any form other than the most simple kind - I'm a filmmaker and already on the edge of my computer tech know-how getting as far as the DCP.

Thanks for reading and in advance of any help you can offer.
Martin

walterlionguy

Re: Getting the DCP onto an appropriate drive...
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2012, 03:06:32 AM »
Hey Martin,

If you are having trouble getting the Ext2 File system put onto an external drive, I say the easiest and most fool proof way to do it is to use a Linux Live DVD.  Ubuntu Desktop is simple and is basically fool proof for doing just this.  You can get the latest ISO from their website (http://www.ubuntu.com/download).  Burn the image to a disc, and boot from it.  From there you can format the drive to Ext2 and copy your DCP from your local disk to the external drive while in the Ubuntu Live session.  When your done just reboot and pop out the disc, simple and no need to install anything.

Any questions, feel free to ask! :)

Regards,
Walter

Martini77

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2012, 01:44:36 PM »
Hi Walter - thanks for your prompt reply - very helpful.

I will try this - but thinking ahead - will I be able to mount the mac osx drives whilst booted in Ubuntu?